Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_8069

Eastern Bluebirds are such cheery little songbirds!  I especially enjoy seeing the brilliant blue apricot and buff-colored birds.  A neighbor has bird houses up and another couple of neighbors have nice bird feeders out.  The Eastern Bluebirds are insect-eating birds.  They enjoy treats of suet or meal worms.  Of course here in Florida there are a lot of insects ready to be hunted.  These are fantastic insect eaters!

The juvenile Eastern Bluebirds are surprisingly speckled instead of just being the main three colors.  Their little backs are blue and the blue gets brighter as they age.  They are little sweeties, for sure!  The males are much more vividly colored than the females as adults.

I took these pictures yesterday morning in my yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_8055DSC_8085DSC_8088

 

Comments on: "Eastern Bluebird Sweeties" (10)

  1. Hello, I love the bluebirds. Years ago I had them nesting in my yard but the darn House Wren took over. The juvies are so cute with their speckled chest. Great photos. Happy Monday, enjoy your new week ahead!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, the House Wrens and Carolina Wrens do move in and take over. I love the look of the juveniles – tender and so cute! Have a fantastic coming week!

  2. They sure are pretty! I see Bluebirds here quite often too, but they don’t nest near my house.

    • Hi Montucky, Yes, the Bluebirds are beautiful! Glad you also have them (Mountain?). Have a wonderful afternoon and evening. Thanks for your always appreciated comments!

  3. I guess when it’s all said and done, my all-time favorite birds are BLUEBIRDS… We have one nestbox and the Bluebirds are working on their 2nd family this season. Sometimes, they will have THREE…. I love watching them. They are such great parents to those sweet babies… AND–the Bluebirds are really neat and clean compared to other birds… Just LOVE ’em!!!!

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, you are really knowledgeable about the Bluebirds! I am so happy you have had great nesting at your place with successful Bluebird families being raised. I sure like these beautiful birds! Have a super great coming week!

  4. they are wonderful birds.

    • Hi Tex, Oh yes, bluebirds are wonderful birds, I agree completely! I am very enthusiastic about bluebirds. Have a fine day tomorrow! Thanks for your always nice comments!

  5. Majestic captures! Definitely looked very beautiful!

    • Hi Lavues, Many thanks! The Eastern Bluebirds are beautiful little birds and I am especially happy to have them in my yards. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

