Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_8824

DSC_8832DSC_8860

 

Here are a bunch of pictures of various water birds that I photographed last night at twilight at the lovely little Lake Paradise from the shoreline of Paradise Park in The Villages, FL.

I enjoyed my vacation.  I was in California visiting my family and attending a wedding.  I did not take many pictures at all on the trip.  We thankfully just missed all the terrible floods in Louisiana by only 2 days!  We actually drove through areas that just days later, were under water.  I hope you will remember the communities in Louisiana who have suffered the floods in your thoughts and prayers.

Happily I saw a new family of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks there at Lake Paradise along with many Canada Geese, White Ibis, Mallards and Florida Mottled Ducks.  There also were a few Anhingas, and a Snowy Egret.

I did miss seeing all of the big birds on my trip.  I did see a California Sea-lion, a Jack Rabbit, and a flock of wild “Freeway chickens” on Highway 99 up in Northern California above Sacramento.  All in all, a great trip!

DSC_8936DSC_8920DSC_8878

Comments on: "Paradise Park Lake, The Villages, FL" (10)

  1. glad to have you home. nice that you had a good visit and could attend the wedding. best that you avoided that horrible flooding. bless them…

    • Hi Tex, I am very glad to be at home now. I did miss seeing wildlife – saw very little on the trip but we were mostly in the desert or along Interstates. Have a great coming week!

  2. Hello, a trip to California sounds like a fun time. I am sure you had a nice visit with your family and at the wedding. I always enjoy seeing the whistling ducks. Happy Monday, enjoy your new week!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, it was a fun long car trip. i always enjoy seeing our family members and had a great time with our son (I only see him about every year or so). Have a great coming week!

  3. I knew you must be on vacation since I hadn’t heard from you in awhile… Sounds like you had a great trip to California…. Prayers for those in those horrible flooded areas.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, we made a long trip by car out West. We were in the Los Angeles area and also in the Sacramento Valley area up North. Saw a lot of farm land, deserts, and swamps but little in the way of critters, which I thought was unusual. We did drive the Interstates for almost all of the trip so that perhaps is why we did not see many animals. We did also hit monsoon rains in AZ/NM as well as the deep South (avoiding flooding by mere days). Have a tremendous coming week!

  4. Glad you had a good trip! Welcome back!

  5. Great trip, love your shots they are taken really nice!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

