Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Whistling Ducks

A family of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

A family of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

This Black-bellied Whistling Duck family at Paradise Park, in The Villages, FL, is quite cute.  The parents are the ones with the pink bills and pink feet.  The ducklings have blue-grey bills and feet that turn pink as they mature.  Such sweeties!  I took the pictures at dusk this last Sunday.  The ducks were quite a long way away from where I was located, so I am glad I had the zoom lens on my camera.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of the photo.  Enjoy!

DSC_8834DSC_9029DSC_8867

 

Comments on: "Whistling Ducks" (7)

  1. Hi all, Please remember the communities in flooding areas of the USA in your thoughts and prayers. The Turkey River is flooding several towns in Northeastern Iowa such as Clermont and Elkader. I have ancestral ties to both communities and have visited that area. They had a huge flood back in 2008 but I think this flood will not be as bad. Also keep Louisiana and Mississippi in your thoughts as they still have flooding issues with every rainstorm that happens. Many thanks!

  2. i think of all they have lost…

    love the bbwds. my flocks are starting to gather up here for their fall migration (if they decide to go). 🙂

    • Hi Tex, I appreciate your considerate and kind thoughts regarding LA, MS, and IA.
      I know you enjoy seeing your whistlers so much you would miss them if they have to migrate. Have a fabulous weekend!

  3. So sad about all of the flooding in our country…. And to think—we are SO SO SO dry here (desperately dry)…. Crazy weather all over the country. Prayers for those who have lost so much in the flooding.

    Great Whistlers…. Didn’t know the babies didn’t have the pink bills… Reminded me of the baby Cardinals….

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Hoping some moisture makes its way to FFG. Yes, the duckling whistlers have the bluish bills. By the way, I saw a Wood Stork here in the development (Did not have my camera with me) yesterday. The Winter birds are on the way. Thanks for your nice thoughts and prayers for those who are affected by floods. Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Hello, my prayers go out to the people of the flooded areas. I always enjoy seeing the cute Whistling Ducks. Great series of photos. Happy weekend to you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

