Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

dsc_9531

Belted Kingfishers are not frequently seen around my neighborhood lake.  I was thrilled to see one visit on three recent days but only was able to get pictures from a long distance on the evening of Sept. 21, 2016, at dusk.  Belted Kingfishers are wary of people, and this individual is no exception.  I was very glad to have my long zoom lens!

The Belted Kingfisher, is a bird that is most often around water and eats fish, frogs, tender turtles, and larger aquatic insects.  The Belted Kingfisher spears its prey with its sharp long bill.  I have occasionally seen Belted Kingfishers around Salt and Fresh Water marshes, ponds, rivers, and lakes here in the Southeastern USA.

This particular kind of Kingfisher has a navy blue-colored body with a white collar.  The Belted Kingfisher is about the same size as a Mourning Dove.  It is very attractive with its top-knot of head feathers.  I was quite excited to have seen this camera-shy visitor!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of the picture.  Enjoy!

dsc_9567dsc_9526

 

Comments on: "A Belted Kingfisher is Spotted!" (8)

  1. Great picture of the Kingfisher, Linda…. I put a Great Blue Heron on my post today.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I will look forward to seeing your fine post. I am catching up on my blog friends’ posts. Have a great Tuesday tomorrow and enjoy the deer (if you see them on the course).

  2. Hello, they are shy birds. They usually fly off as soon as I lift up my camera. Great sighting.
    Happy Monday, enjoy your new week!

  3. i love these chattering birds.

    • Hi Tex, They are really nifty birds. By the way, your blog post on the Roadrunner was great! I tried to post my comment but the verification process is going haywire again between WordPress and Blogger it seems. I just wanted to let you know that I am trying to catch up on getting to my blog friends’ blog posts. Have a wonderful Tuesday tomorrow!

  4. What a treat to get to see that fellow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

