Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

Water is all around us here in lovely Florida!  I live in a county with many ponds and lakes.  Our community has many man-made park lakes and ponds.  Here are some of the beautiful big birds that visit the shores of these community lakes here in The Villages, Florida.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of that photo.  Enjoy.

Note:  We will be having a hurricane (tropical cyclone or typhoon as it is called elsewhere) come by our state on Friday.  I live right in the center of the peninsula about 60 miles from the coastline.  If the weather is not terrible and we have power I will post as normal on Friday.  If not, well, there is a great reason.  I will let you know what happens around here (I do not expect it to be bad at all).

Wood Stork

Wood Stork

Anhinga

Anhinga

Snowy Egret

Snowy Egret

Comments on: "Water Birds, Waders, and Waterfowl" (6)

  1. The Egret sure stands out against the green!

    • Hi Montucky, It does. I saw a lot of egrets today. I also saw 8 Sandhill Cranes in various spots plus a Little Blue Heron. No camera on hand when I spotted these lovely birds. Oh well. Have a super nice evening tonight and a great day tomorrow!

  2. you do have some great waterbirds around.

    • Hi Tex, I saw a bunch of ’em today. In addition to those I mentioned in my reply to Montucky here, I also saw the Wood Stork and a huge bunch of White Ibises on the shore of one of the little park lakes near the town square. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  3. Hello, I love all the birds you see. The Wood stork and Whistling ducks are some of my favorites. I hope you and everyone stay safe from Hurricane Matthew! Happy Thursday, enjoy your day!

    • Hi Eileen, My hubby and I have done everything we can to get ready. We should be fine. The weather forecasters on TV say tropical storm force winds here in The Villages and also up in Ocala. We will see. Thanks for the good thoughts. I appreciate it! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

