Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Sandhill Cranes Visit

dsc_1558

Six Sandhill Cranes were spotted on the shores of our little neighborhood park lake, Paradise Lake, on Sunday, December 11, 2016.  Two were near Swartz Park and four were on the far shore across from Paradise Park.

I think I witnessed a courtship dance but that is uncertain.  All of the sudden two of the four cranes started flapping their wings, bowing down a little and then each hopped several times. I think it was hubba-hubba I am great or maybe aggression?  Who knows?  I have never seen this behavior in person.  These are likely not resident Florida cranes.  I believe these are Winter visitors and may be on the way further South.  Again, who can tell?  Perhaps these beautiful big birds will remain in The Villages for the Winter season.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version.  By the way, in one picture, there is a Great Blue Heron standing very close to a Sandhill Crane.   The crane is the one with the red marking on its forehead.  Enjoy!

dsc_1571-1dsc_1439dsc_1294

 

dsc_1564dsc_1565dsc_1568

Comments on: "The Sandhill Cranes Visit" (6)

  1. I love Sandhill Cranes… My son used to see them along the coast in Texas. Gorgeous birds.

    I published a cute blog post this morning. Check it out when you get time.
    Hugs and Merry Christmas,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I certainly will visit your great blog! Glad you also have seen some Sandhill Cranes. Very lovely big birds! Have a wonderful day and enjoy your deer on the golf course if you spot them.

  2. You got some very nice pictures of them. Many years ago they would come through here, but I haven’t seen any in recent years.

    • Hi Montucky, I had seen some in Yellowstone in about 2011 but did not see any in Yellowstone in 2013 the last time I was there. The birds I saw here yesterday may have come from up that-away, who knows? Have a super nice day!

  3. Hello, the Sandhill Cranes have become one of my favorite Florida birds. Great sighting and photos. I hear them fly over our place here and they walk around the neighborhood lik they own it 🙂 Happy Monday, enjoy your day and new week!

    • Hi Eileen, Wow! You are fortunate to see the Sandy’s at your new place. Here there are a few in the more central area South of us near Lake Sumter in The Villages. This bunch here in Paradise Lake are visitors only. Have a great day and thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

