Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Sandhill Cranes Part 1 of 2

dsc_2738

Sandhill Cranes arrived at the little neighborhood Paradise Lake here on Saturday night (12/14/17) at twilight.  First I spotted two of the big birds and then the rest of the flock flew in.  It was quite the sight!  The lake is very low again so I think the Sandhill Cranes like the mudflat sandbars in the middle of the lake.  I spotted twenty-one cranes at Swartz Park!

I believe this flock of Sandhill Cranes are migrating from up North.  I think that we do have a few here that are native to Florida as well that may be among the bunch.  One of the Sandhill Cranes is either a leucastic genetic mutation bird, or is a hybrid between the Whooping Crane and Sandhill Crane.  That individual is a lot lighter in color than the other twenty cranes.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of the photo.  Enjoy!

dsc_2733dsc_2683

dsc_2430

 

dsc_2675dsc_2640dsc_2722

Comments on: "Sandhill Cranes Part 1 of 2" (2)

  1. Hello, I always enjoy seeing the Sandhill Cranes. Awesome collection of photos. The lighter crane is pretty. Happy Monday, enjoy your day and the new week ahead!

    • Hi Eileen, I agree about the lighter crane being quite pretty. Thanks! It is very fun to see all these birds around. I guess I am spoiled where I now live that there are so many different birds here to easily spot! Have a great day today and a nice coming week!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

