Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Egyptian Geese with Goslings

dsc_3362

This is the first family of Egyptian Geese I have seen.  I have previously photographed adult Egyptian Geese but have never had an opportunity to see Egyptian Goslings as they are rare here.

Egyptian Geese are native to Africa and are a relative of the Shellducks.  They eat plants such as grass and also grains and seeds.  I think (just a quick guess) there maybe twenty to thirty Egyptian Geese here in this area but these are spread out over many lakes.  The breed is just establishing themselves here in Florida.

These geese were imported to be golf course or farm pets and have escaped into the wild.  They are not common.  I took these pictures on Sunday, February 19, 2017 at the little lake behind Freedom Pointe here in The Villages, Florida.  I took the pictures with my long zoom from across the lake as to not disturb the family of geese.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of the picture.  Enjoy!

dsc_3364dsc_3428

Comments on: "Egyptian Geese with Goslings" (4)

  1. Thank you for introducing me to this beautiful bird! I am going to see my Mom in a couple of weeks and I hope to see them around! Have a great day! Cathy

  2. The little ones are cute and so brightly marked! Interesting birds!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

