Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

This flock of about eleven Sandhill Cranes visited the rapidly drying-up beautiful little Paradise Lake in The Villages, Florida on Monday, April 3, 2017 at dusk.  I think the feeding was great for the big birds!  There were a lot of aquatic plants exposed as well as easily caught minnows, tadpoles, small fish, frogs, and the like.

I think these birds were doing courtship dances as several were hopping and flapping their wings.  They also were vocalizing in a low soft manner.  It also was pretty humorous to see a Great Blue Heron fly over near where the cranes were at and see the reaction of both kinds of birds.  After just a moment of being harassed by the cranes, the heron flew to another area of the lake were the other birds were tiny ones!  Ha!

I believe this group is just visiting but may be from the region.  We have both migratory and native Sandhill Cranes here.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of the picture.  Enjoy!  P.S.  It rained on Tuesday – a nice good soaker!  – Wildlifewatcher

 

Comments on: "A Flock of Florida Sandhill Cranes" (6)

  1. Hello, The Sandhill Cranes are one of my favorite Florida birds. Great post and photos.
    Happy Wednesday, enjoy your day!

    • Hi Eileen, Many thanks! I was thrilled to see this flock. The camera I used is a hand-me-down from my hubby. It is less powerful in its zoom but weighs half of what my big lens and camera does. A trade-off for ease of hauling it all over the place, I guess. Have a great Thursday tomorrow!

  2. Pretty nice to see!

    • Hi Montucky, Yes, it was. I was delighted to see so many of the cranes here. I saw one and then a couple of groups fly in. I knew they would be at the park area and yes, the flock was there. I shot the pictures from across the lake. The flock was standing in what usually would be 2-3 feet of water and there was mere inches of water! Have a great day tomorrow! Thanks for your comments.

  3. Wow—what a great group of cranes… I know you were thrilled to see so many! Great shots..

    We dodged a big storm yesterday –but now we are hoping that we don’t have a frost or freeze tonight and tomorrow night…. Mercy Me… Crazy weather in TN.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I hope you don’t get bad weather. I know how hard you work on having a gorgeous yard! It poured and stormed here this morning for an hour. Glad for it actually. With the big rainy day we had on Tuesday, it actually is looking better for our lakes. Have a wonderful day today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

