Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Great Blue Herons

I spotted these Great Blue Herons here in The Villages, FL at two local lakes and at one golf course pond.  These waders are frequently spotted around the area fishing for frogs, small fish like Bluegill Perch, and small turtles or crawfish (crayfish or crawdads).  I enjoy watching them stalk their prey and finally catch the fish by spearing it with their long sharp bill.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the slightly larger version of the picture.  Enjoy!  P.S.  So sorry I have been offline for a few days.  I was representing Florida at the U.S. National Senior Games Archery Tournament in Birmingham, Alabama,  and am happy to say, I am a Bronze Medalist for my class.

Comments on: "Great Blue Herons" (5)

  1. That’s an excellent shot of the Heron!
    Congratulations on winning a medal!

    • Hi Montucky, Many thanks! Saw a White Squirrel today at a Florida State Park in the area of St. Mark’s National Wildlife Sanctuary on a river. Interesting that it was considered to be a hybrid of the Grey Squirrel and is unique to that particular area of Florida. No picture as my camera had been packed up and we were in the car driving out of the campground. Have a great day tomorrow!

  2. Great Blue Herons are so pretty… I was so excited to see one fairly close on a trip last year to the Peaks of Otter.

    Archery, huh? That’s neat –and I had no idea. CONGRATS.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Thanks! Yes the Great Blue Herons are a fabulous bird. As far as my archery goes – I am a target compound archer (I formerly was a recurve shooter for several years) and just started shooting compound last Sept. I do not hunt. I do think I may try shooting field and perhaps 3-D style. I love target the best. Have a fine day today. Enjoy your golf course deer and your great back and front yards!

  3. Teri Nieft said:

    I love looking at your pictures. Tell Tim. I sm do sorry I have not gotten back to him. I have had do much company since I got here!!!!!
    Hopefully he will answer me????

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

