Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Sometimes I include pictures on my posts that are, well, just silly!  I catch animals being naughty or in a pose that is funny-looking.  I am not making fun of animals, just showing the humor that nature gives us.  The Grey Squirrels just love getting up on the bird feeders to snatch some sunflower seeds!  The efforts we all take to keep the Squirrels off of the feeders is amazing.  The efforts of the Squirrels to defeat our measures to keep them off of the feeders, is also amazing!  I took all of these pictures in the  past several weeks.  I have to laugh when I see the Grey Squirrels sort of run-leap in the snow.  I can imagine that the 4″ of snow we had just was tough for the little  Squirrels to deal with.  I saw four Grey Squirrels climbing the Poplar Tree, but only could get three of the Squirrels in the frame of the picture.  By the way, the woodpecker suet-seed feeder just got moved away from the regular bird feeder station as the Grey Squirrels found a way to climb up the woodpecker feeder pole and jump over to the bird seed feeder.  Clever!   Our weather today is absolutely glorious!  It is a sunny calm day and the weather forecast says we may get into the very low 50’s F.  I think that is a happy day thing!  Please click on the thumbnail version to see the larger photograph.

Comments on: "Grey Squirrels Making me Smile" (8)

  1. THey are quite smart little critters. I enjoyed all of the photos, but the first really made me laugh!

  2. helengibsondavies said:

    Ha ha! You’ve just gotta admire them haven’t you?

  3. What great shots! Those you caught in mid-air are such great catches! Both of those poses in the air look the same! Except one is with snow and one without.

  4. I think I like the one of the squirrel on the twig the best–but they are all great.

Leave a comment