Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Ring-Necked Ducks

Finally I have seen a drake Ring-necked duck here on the little farm pond.  I have been seeing one or two hen Ring-necked Ducks on the pond mixing-in with the Mallard Ducks now for over a month.  I had noticed a few days ago, that there were several drake Ring-necked ducks over on the nearby small private community lake.  I guess the hens here were the deciding factor for this drake.

The Ring-necked ducks are migratory visitors here in Cumberland County, TN in the winter.  They usually live in Canada and in upper mid-western states here in the U.S.A.   The Ring-necked drakes are black and white.  They have a distinctive white ring on the dark bill.  The hens are a sable brown with lighter brown highlights.  The hen has a white ring around her eyes.  She also has that distinctive ring around her bill.  Ring-necked ducks are diving ducks that mostly eat plants such as pond weeds, bulbs, and seeds.  They will also enjoy aquatic snails.  I took these pictures in my yard and on the street near my driveway (lake pictures) at various times in the past few days.   Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Ring-Necked Ducks" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    hurray for couples!

  2. A great photo of this pair! The male has put on a tuxedo to court her!

  3. It’s as though you had your own little waterfowl refuge! Your photos and descriptions cause me to look closer at all of the birds I see, especially the waterfowl.

  4. Hi Linda, you are seeing some great birds and ducks. I love your photos , especially the shot of the ringneck couple. I hope you are having a great weekend.

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! I have so much fun watching all the action. Neve the same views from day to day here. Today we have had rain but have seen Canada Geese, ducks, and Tufted Titmice (new to the little farm). Have a great evening!

Leave a comment