Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Cool Weather Coots

The American Coots are here in this area in a big way.  The numbers of Coots has increased steadily.  I took these pictures at two different local lakes on Nov. 23, 2012.  At one lake, I saw a small group of maybe fifty Coots.  At the other lake which is fairly close to my current home here at the little farm, there are probably five hundred Coots!  The flocks that are newer to the area still tend to huddle together in a large raft formation.  Coots do this for security against predators.  The weather here in Cumberland County, TN, has recently been very cool and getting colder by the day.  The Coots are Winter visitors here.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Cool Weather Coots" (8)

  1. totally cool! i’ve never seen one in person and you get to see hundreds!

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, the coots are really neat birds and I am lucky to see many around the area. None yet on the pond, but I may have a couple here in coming months. There are a few on the nearby lake I think. There also are Ring-necked Ducks there as well. Have a great coming week and thanks for your comments!

  2. HI Linda, Sounds like you had a GREAT ‘bird’ Thanksgiving Weekend…. Love seeing all of the different birds you get to see. Love the Bufflehead Duck you saw!!!!! Awesome!!!!

    Hope you have a good week… I’ll be decorating this week–off and on!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Glad you decorate for the holidays as it makes the Glade beautiful at this time of year (I think it is always nice there in any event). Have a super nice coming week and thanks for your comments!

  3. Great sighting of the raft, the coots are cool looking birds. Hope you are having a great day, Linda!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, I am having a great weekend. The Notre Dame football team won its last regular season game and are a perfect 12-0 and will play for the BCS National Championship. My husband taught one of the Fighting Irish players when that athlete was in high school back in California. That is why I am a passionate Notre Dame rooter! Have a really great coming week!

  4. I wish i could see a coot! How have you been? I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

    • Hi Ginny, Although I am quickly losing my eye-sight, I will be able to have cataract surgery next month to restore my formerly good vision. I am going to be on a blog break for about a month while I wait for surgery, have surgery, and recover. Can’t see well enough to use the camera and take great shots. So, I am not saying farewell, just a short month off. I will be great and back to wildlife watching in Jan. Thanks for your excellent comments, and your great blog. While I still can read a bit, I will be visiting your blog. Have a wonderful week and a super nice Christmas! I am praying for your health.

Leave a comment